Footnotes (114)



The Architecture of Accreditation

Jay Conison

Charlotte School of Law

February 22, 2011

Iowa Law Review, Vol. 96, p. 1515, 2011
Valparaiso University Legal Studies Research Paper No. 11-02

Accreditation systems can be analyzed in terms of choices in three dimensions. One dimension is purpose of accreditation, where purpose can relate to program quality or quality of outcomes. The second dimension is types of accreditation norms used to achieve the purposes of the system. There are five principal types of norms: process quality norms; output norms; power allocation norms; self-determination norms; and consumer protection norms. The third dimension is degree of regulation. A sound accreditation system will make choices along each of these three dimensions. Understanding possible accreditation structures helps in the design and revision of accreditation systems and can aid in the effective analysis of them.

Number of Pages in PDF File: 24

Keywords: accreditation, legal education, law schools, ABA standards, regulation, norms

Open PDF in Browser Download This Paper

Date posted: February 23, 2011 ; Last revised: July 27, 2011

Suggested Citation

Conison, Jay, The Architecture of Accreditation (February 22, 2011). Iowa Law Review, Vol. 96, p. 1515, 2011; Valparaiso University Legal Studies Research Paper No. 11-02. Available at SSRN: https://ssrn.com/abstract=1767004

Contact Information

Jay Conison (Contact Author)
Charlotte School of Law ( email )
201 South College Street
Suite 400
Charlotte, NC 28244
United States
Feedback to SSRN

Paper statistics
Abstract Views: 858
Downloads: 70
Download Rank: 264,163
Footnotes:  114